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PRELIMINARY RECITALS 
 

Pursuant to a petition filed January 10, 2013, under Wis. Stat. § 49.45(5), and Wis. Admin. Code § HA 
3.03(1), to review a decision by the Dunn County Department of Human Services in regard to Medical 
Assistance, a hearing was held on April 17, 2013, at Menomonie, Wisconsin. A hearings scheduled for 
February 20, 2013, was rescheduled at the petitioner’s request. A hearing scheduled for March 19, 2013, 
was a rescheduled because the worker had a family emergency.  
 
The issue for determination is whether the county agency correctly determined that the petitioner was 
ineligible for medical assistance because she had not completely cured her divestment.   
 
There appeared at that time and place the following persons: 
 
 PARTIES IN INTEREST: 

Petitioner: 

 
c/o Atty Peter Grosskopf 
1324 W Clairemont Ave  Suite 10 
Eau Claire, WI  54701 

Petitioner's Representative: 

Attorney Peter  Grosskopf 
1324 West Clairemont Ave  Suite 10       
Eau Claire, WI  54701 
 

 

Respondent: 

 

Department of Health Services 
1 West Wilson Street 
Madison, Wisconsin 53703 

By: Paula Goodell 
Dunn County Department of Human Services 
808 Main Street 
PO Box 470 
Menomonie, WI  54751 

 
 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE: 
 Michael D. O'Brien 
 Division of Hearings and Appeals 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
1. The petitioner (CARES #  had been a resident of a nursing home in Dunn County 

since September 26, 2012. She died on October 12, 2012 

2. The petitioner applied for institutional medical assistance on August 30, 2012, requesting benefits 
retroactive to May 1, 2012. 

3. At some point before applying for medical assistance, the petitioner gave $85,351. 29 to her 
relatives. 

4. Those receiving the petitioner’s money paid approximately $89,000 for her nursing home care 
after receiving that money. Of this amount, $26,901.59 was paid after May 1, 2012. 

5. The county agency determined that only the funds paid on the petitioner’s behalf after May 1, 
2012, reduced any divestment that occurred when she gave her money away. It determined that 
$58,449.70 remained divested, which resulted in a divestment penalty period of 271 days, 
beginning on May 1, 2012, and ending on January 27, 2013.  

 
DISCUSSION 

 
A person cannot receive institutional medical assistance if her assets exceed $2,000. See Wis. Stat. §§ 
49.46(1) and 49.47(4). Generally, a person cannot reach this limit by divesting assets, which occurs if she 
or someone acting on her behalf “disposes of resources at less than fair market value” within five years of 
later of when they were institutionalized and applied for medical assistance. Wis. Adm. Code, § DHS 
103.065(4)(a); Wis. Stat. § 49.453(1)(f). If the person improperly divests her assets, she is ineligible for 
institutional medical assistance for the number of months obtained by dividing the amount given away by 
the statewide average monthly cost to a private pay patient in a nursing home when she applied. Wis. 
Admin. Code, § DHS 103.065(5)(b). Beginning on January 1, 2009, county agencies were instructed to 
use the average daily cost of care and determine ineligibility to the day rather than to the month. The 
currently average daily cost of nursing home care is $215.48. Medicaid Eligibility Handbook, § 17.5.2.2. 
The date the divestment penalty period begins depends upon when the divestment occurred. If the 
divestment occurred on January 1, 2009, or later, the period begins on the date the person is 
institutionalized, has applied for medical assistance, and is otherwise eligible for benefits. If the 
divestment occurred earlier than this, the penalty period begins the month the divestment occurred. 
Medicaid Eligibility Handbook, § 17.5.3. A divestment penalty period can be reduced or eliminated if the 
asset is returned. Wis. Admin. Code, § DHS 103.065(4)(d)2.c. Medical assistance eligibility can be made 
retroactive to “the first day of the month 3 months prior to the month of application” if all of the 
program’s eligibility requirements have been met. Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 103.08(1). 
 
The petitioner went into the nursing home on September 26, 2010, and remained there until she died on 
October 12, 2012. On August 30, 2012, she applied for institutional medical assistance, requesting 
benefits retroactive to May 1, 2012. At some point she gave away $85,351.29 to her relatives. However, 
they then spent over $89,000 for her nursing home care. Of this amount, $26,901 was spent after the May 
1, 2012, date on which she seeks to begin her eligibility. The agency reduced the divestment by the 
$26,901 spent on her care after the May 1, 2012, date she requests that her eligibility begin. This left a 
$58,449.70 divestment, which resulted in a 271-day divestment penalty period beginning May 1, 2012, 
and ending January 27, 2013. 
 
The agency relies upon Medicaid Eligibility Handbook, § 17.5.5.2., which pertains to partial refunds of a 
divested asset, to continue to count money paid for nursing home care before May 1, 2012 as part of the 
divestment. That section states: “When part of a resource or its equivalent value is returned through a cash 
payment, the divested amount and the penalty period is recalculated only if the returned resource is used 
to pay for medical and remedial expenses incurred during the divestment penalty period or for the cost of 
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care previously provided to the individual during the divestment penalty period.” Because the divestment 
penalty period does not begin until the petitioner is otherwise eligible, or May 1, 2012, the agency 
contends that any money returned in the form of medical payments before that date does not reduce the 
amount of the divestment or the divestment period. 
 
The petitioner counters that this was a full rather than a partial repayment of the divestment, and that 
therefore the agency should have relied upon the policy that covers full repayments. That policy, found in 
the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook, § 17.5.5.1., states: “When the entire divested resource or equivalent 
value is returned to the individual, the entire penalty period is nullified.” That section does not limit 
repayments to the penalty period, instead stating:  “The refunded resources will be counted as available 
assets beginning with the month in which they were returned.” 
 
The whole discussion has a chicken-and-egg quality to it. If the policy pertaining to partial repayments is 
invoked, then the petitioner only partially cured the divestment because the limitations spelled out in that 
policy mean that only those funds returned after May 1, 2012, reduce the divestment. However, if the 
policy pertaining to a complete repayment is invoked, because those limitations are not present, then the 
petitioner completely cured the divestment. Regardless of which policy is used, it is important to 
remember that these policies are only interpretations meant to help workers carry out the law; they are not 
the actual law, which is found in the statutes and administrative code provisions.  
 
The language of the Wisconsin statute covering this situation, Wis. Stat. § 49.453(8)(a)1, states that a 
divestment does not occur if the “assets are exempt under 42 USC 1396p(c)(2)(A), (B), or (C). Wis. Stat. 
§ 49.453. The cited federal statute states a divestment does not occur if “all assets transferred for less than 
fair market value have been returned to the individual.” 42 USC 1396p(c)(2)(C)iii. Similar language is 
used in Wis. Admin. Code, § DHS 103.065(4)(d)2.c., which states that a divestment does not occur if the 
“ownership of the divested property was returned to the individual who originally disposed of it.” None of 
these provisions limit the period in which a divestment can be cured to the divestment penalty period. 
Indeed, limiting the repayment period to the divestment penalty period only makes any sense at all in 
relation to these statutes and administrative code provisions if the penalty period refers that for 
divestments that occurred before January 1, 2009, in which case the penalty period begins when the 
divestment occurred rather than when the person was otherwise eligible for benefits, the time it begins for 
later divestments. Viewed in the context of those pre-2009 circumstance, what the Medicaid Eligibility 
Handbook, § 17.5.5.2., did was make it clear that if someone had made nursing home payments on behalf 
of another person without being reimbursed, the nursing home resident could not claim that those 
payments retroactively cured any later divestment that might occur.  
 
Policy makers do have some discretion concerning what qualifies as returning an asset. The Department 
has used this discretion to allow payments to a nursing home to be used to reduce a divestment. This 
provision makes sense because these payments are something that is clearly for the recipient’s sole 
benefit, and thus do not allow the person returning the divested asset to retain some partial or tangential 
value, something that would not be true if a child gave his aging parent a car. But any discretion exercised 
by the Department must be consistent with medical assistance law. In order to reverse a divestment, those 
laws require only that assets given away be given back. Neither party disputes that all of the funds the 
petitioner gave to her children have been returned to her in the form of nursing home payments. Based 
upon this, I find that there is no divestment and that she is eligible for medical assistance as of May 1, 
2012, the date both parties agree she would be eligible if there is no divestment. 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. The petitioner cured her divestment when those who received the benefit of the divestment paid 
for her nursing home costs. 

2. The petitioner was eligible for institutional medical assistance as of May 1, 2012. 
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THEREFORE, it is ORDERED 
 
That this matter is remanded to the county agency with instructions that within 10 days of the date of this 
decision it find the petitioner eligible for medical assistance retroactive to May 1, 2012.  
 
REQUEST FOR A REHEARING 
 
This is a final administrative decision. If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts 
or the law, you may request a rehearing. You may also ask for a rehearing if you have found new 
evidence which would change the decision. Your request must explain what mistake the Administrative 
Law Judge made and why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and tell why you did 
not have it at your first hearing. If you do not explain these things, your request will have to be denied. 
 
To ask for a rehearing, send a written request to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, 
Madison, WI 53707-7875. Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as 
"PARTIES IN INTEREST."  Your request for a rehearing must be received no later than 20 days after the 
date of the decision. Late requests cannot be granted. 
 
The process for asking for a rehearing is in Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes can be found at 
your local library or courthouse. 
 
APPEAL TO COURT 
 
You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be served 
and filed with the appropriate court no more than 30 days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 
days after a denial of rehearing, if you ask for one).  
 
For purposes of appeal to circuit court, the Respondent in this matter is the Department of Health 
Services.  After filing the appeal with the appropriate court, it must be served on the Secretary of that 
Department, either personally or by certified mail. The address of the Department is:  1 West Wilson 
Street, Madison, Wisconsin 53703.  A copy should also be sent to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 
5005 University Avenue, Suite 201, Madison, WI 53705-5400. 
 
The appeal must also be served on the other "PARTIES IN INTEREST" named in this decision. The 
process for appeals to the Circuit Court is in Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53. 
 
 
  Given under my hand at the City of Madison, 

Wisconsin, this 23rd day of April, 2013 
 
 

 
  \sMichael D. O'Brien 
  Administrative Law Judge 

Division of Hearings and Appeals 
 

  

 



MDV/146580 

5 

 

State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS 

David H. Schwarz Telephone: (608) 266-3096 
Suite 201 FAX: (608) 264-9885 
5005 University Avenue 
Madison, WI   53705-5400 

email: DHAmail@wisconsin.gov  
Internet: http://dha.state.wi.us 

 

 

 

 

The preceding decision was sent to the following parties on April 23, 2013. 

Dunn County Department of Human Services 
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 
peter@eclawyers.com 

 




