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STATE OF WISCONSIN 

Division of Hearings and Appeals 
 

In the Matter of 
 
Every Child’s Place, Inc. 
 

 
 

DECISION 
 

ML-10-0282 
 

 
PRELIMINARY RECITALS 

 
A petition was filed on June 23, 2010, under Wis. Stat., §48.72 to review a decision by the Division of 
Early Care and Education (Division) to order a child care provider to stop violating rules and to impose a 
forfeiture.  On July 27, 2010, the Division moved to dismiss the appeal as untimely.  
 
The issue for determination is whether petitioner’s appeal was untimely. 
 
 PARTIES IN INTEREST:  
 

Petitioner:  

Virginia M. Brydges 
Every Child’s Place, Inc. 
3220 30th Avenue 
Kenosha, WI  53144 
  

 

Wisconsin Department of Children and Families 
201 East Washington Avenue, Room G200 
Madison, WI 53703 

By:  Atty. Nicole L. Bjork 
 

EXAMINER: 
Brian C. Schneider, Administrative Law Judge 
Division of Hearings and Appeals 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Petitioner operates a group day care center in Kenosha. 

2. On June 9, 2001, the Division issued to petitioner a notice of order to stop violating statute and/or 
rules along with a direct forfeiture of $1,000.  The notice was delivered to the center on June 10, 
2010. 

3. Petitioner filed this appeal on June 23, 2010, in a letter dated June 18 and postmarked June 22, 2010.  
 

DISCUSSION 
 
Wis. Stat., §48.72 provides, in the part relevant here, as follows: 
 



 

Except as provided in s. 48.715(6) and (7), any person aggrieved by the department’s 
refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue a license or by any action taken by the 
department under s. 48.715 has the right to an administrative hearing provided for contested 
cases in ch. 227.  To receive an administrative hearing under ch. 227, the aggrieved person 
shall send to the department a written request for a hearing under s. 227.44 within 10 days 
after the date of the department’s refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue a license or 
the department’s action taken under s. 48.715.   

 
Wis. Stat., §48.72 clearly specifies that a day care licensee, including a group child care center licensed 
under Wis. Adm. Code, Chapter DCF 251, must notify the department of its request for a hearing to contest 
the propriety of, as here, forfeitures and/or sanctions taken under Wis. Stat., §48.715, by sending a written 
request for a hearing to the department within ten days of the date of the department's action.  
 
The department’s supporting affidavit establishes that the notice at issue was mailed by certified mail and 
regular mail on June 9, 2010.  It was received by the licensee, by signature of an agent, by certified mail on 
June 10, 2010.  Under Wis. Adm. Code, §HA 1.03(3), an appeal is considered received by the Division of 
Hearings & Appeals on the postmark date on the envelope.  The postmark on petitioner’s appeal letter was 
June 22, 2010.  Ten days after June 10 was June 20, 2010, which was a Sunday, and thus petitioner could 
have filed the appeal anytime up until the end of the business day on June 21, 2010. 
 
The jurisdictional statute specifies that the appeal must be sent within ten days.  There is no exception 
written into the law.  I find that the appeal was filed too late on the 12th day after the date of service of the 
notice.  Accordingly, the petition is untimely as a matter of law.  The Division's motion to dismiss the 
appeal is granted.  
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
Petitioner’s appeal of an order and forfeiture was untimely. 
 
NOW, THEREFORE, it is  ORDERED 
 
That the petition for review herein be and the same is hereby dismissed. 
 
REQUEST FOR A NEW HEARING 
 
This is a final fair hearing decision.  If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or 
the law, you may request a new hearing.  You may also ask for a new hearing if you have found new 
evidence that would change the decision.  To ask for a new hearing, send a written request to the Division 
of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, Madison, WI  53707-7875. 
 
Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST.” 
 
Your request must explain what mistake the administrative law judge made and why it is important or you 
must describe your new evidence and tell why you did not have it at your first hearing.  If you do not 
explain these things, your request will have to be denied. 
 
Your request for a new hearing must be received no later than twenty (20) days after the date of this 
decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.  The process for asking for a new hearing is in sec. 227.49 of 
the state statutes.  A copy of the statutes can found at your local library or courthouse. 
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APPEAL TO COURT 
 
You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed 
no more than thirty (30) days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 days after a denial of rehearing, 
if you ask for one).  
 
Appeals concerning the revocation of a group child care license must be served on the Wisconsin 
Department of Children & Families, as respondent, 201 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8916, Madison, 
WI 53708-8916.  The appeal must also be served on the other “PARTIES IN INTEREST” named in this 
decision.  The process for Court appeals is in sec. 227.53 of the statutes. 
 
        Given under my hand at the City of 

Madison, Wisconsin, this ________ day 
of August, 2010. 

 
 
 

 
Brian C. Schneider, Administrative Law Judge 
Division of Hearings and Appeals 
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