
 

 
STATE OF WISCONSIN 

Department of Children and Families 
 

In the Matter of 
 
Gee Gee's Playhouse 

 
DECISION 

 
ML-09-0161 & ML-09-0309 

 
On June 10, 2009 Petitioner filed a hearing request pursuant to §227.44 to contest a determination by the 
Milwaukee County DHHS that Petitioner had been overpaid child care benefits and on September 20, 
2009, Petitioner filed a hearing request pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 227.44 to contest a payment refusal action 
reflected in a notice issued by the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families (Department).  A 
hearing was commenced on July 28, 2009 for the overpayment case, adjourned, consolidated with the 
refusal case and the hearing concluded on December 7, 2009, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  
 
Two other appeals have been filed by Petitioner and hearings not yet held. The first is a revocation action 
based on the circumstances of the overpayment case and that is held in abeyance for the outcome of the 
overpayment and the second is a second overpayment notice that was issued after this hearing.  
 
There appeared at that time and place, the following persons: 
 
PARTIES IN INTEREST: 
 
 Petitioner: 

Gee Gee's Playhouse, by  
 
Attorney N. Lynnette McNeely 
P. O. Box 812 
Brookfield, WI  53008-0812  
 
Respondents: 

 Milwaukee County Department Of Health And Human Services by 
 
Kevin Ivory 
1220 West Vliet 
Milwaukee WI 53205 
 

 Department of Children and Families, by  
 
Attorney Nancy Wettersten 
Department of Children and Families 
201 East Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor 
Madison, Wisconsin, 53703 
 

 Administrative Law Judge: 
 David D. Fleming 
 Division of Hearings and Appeals 
 



 
Issues for Determination  

 
1. Does the Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services (MCDHHS) 

have a legal basis for alleging overpayment? 
 
2. Has the MCDHHS demonstrated that an overpayment occurred and if so, how much was 

that overpayment? 
 
3. Did MCDHHS have the legal authority to ‘suspend’ Petitioner’s participation in the 

Wisconsin Shares Child Care (SHARES) program? 
 
4. Did the Department of Children and Families (DCF) have legal authority to refuse to pay 

Petitioner for the Shares program? 
 
5. If DCF had legal authority to refuse to pay, did it have reasonable suspicion to do so? 
 
6. Does the DCF refusal to pay have a time limit?  

 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. Petitioner is a family child care center owned and operated by DH.  When the term Petitioner is 
used through this decision it refers to Gee Gees and DH collectively. 

 
2. Petitioner is a family child care center first granted a probationary license on January 24, 2008. 

That license expired on July 31, 2008.  Ex # 1.  Whether the license continued as a regular or 
probationary license is not in the record but the license was continued. The license permitted 
Petitioner to operate from 6 AM to 12 AM, Monday through Friday, with a maximum capacity of 
8 children between the ages of 6 weeks and 12 years.  Ex # 1. 

 
3. Petitioner enrolled with the Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services 

(MCDHHS) as a child care provider on or about February 8, 2008. Ex # 2. 
 

4. Petitioner was sent a letter, dated May 27, 2009, by the Milwaukee County DHSS that informed 
Petitioner that the county agency had determined that Petitioner had been overpaid by the 
Wisconsin Shares Child care program in the amount of $11,819.78 during the time period from 
March 30, 2008 through September 13, 2008. The letter also informed Petitioner that the 
Milwaukee County Department Of Health And Human Services had suspended Petitioner for 
participation in the Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy program for six months effective June 
13, 2009, citing DCF §201.04(5)(c), Wis. Adm. Code as the legal basis for that action.  Ex # 8. 

 
5. The MCDHHS May 27, 2009 letter noted the following violations leading to the alleged 

overissuance: 
 

 Petitioner’s sign in/sign out sheets indicate that Petitioner was 
overcapacity on 72 of the 117 days for which she billed during the period 
from March 30, 2008 to September 12, 2009. 

 
 Petitioner provided sign in/sign out for April 5, 6 and 12, 2008 – all 

weekend days. 
 

 Petitioner billed for children not on the sign in/sign out. 
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 On March 31, 2008 licensing specialists told Milwaukee County 

Department Of Health And Human Services that they had no access but 
Petitioner billed for 3 children. 
 

 On April 9, 2008 at 8:45 AM an inspect showed one child in attendance 
but Petitioner billed for 4 children at this time. 
 

 On July 11, 2008 there was no access but Petitioner billed for 4 children 
at the time. 
 

 On July 25, 2008 at 2:30 PM 5 children were present but sign in/sign out 
indicated 6 were there. 

 
6. The letter noted at Finding # 5 precipitated the appeal dated June 10, 2009 and assigned case # 

ML-09-0161 by the Division of Hearings and Appeals. 
 

7. By the time of the hearings conducted here the county agency had had discussions with Petitioner 
and or her counsel and reduced the amount of the alleged overissuance to $8623.41.  This was 
based on two categories of violation; the overcapacity violation and inaccurate records. The 
inaccurate records were as alleged to be:   

 
 CM – $148.50 – no time listed for week of 6/29-7/5/08 
 
 GG – $148.50 – no time listed for week of 6/29-7/5/08  

 
 MR – $140.00 – no time listed for week of 7/20 -7/26  

 
 MR – $140.00 – no time listed for week of 7/27-8/2   

 
 RR – $170.00 – no time listed for week of 8/10- 8/16  

 
 JJ – $171.00 – no time listed for week of 8/24 -8/30.  

 
8. A review of the sign in/sign out sheets for the children noted at Finding # 7 reveals that times 

were listed for all but one child who was reported to be absent (JJ) and one child (CM) where 
there was a start time but no end time. Ex. # 4. 

 
9. All of the children with authorizations to attend Petitioner’s facility were enrollment not 

attendance based. 
 
10. Petitioner was sent a letter, dated September 18, 2009, by the Department of Children and 

Families that informed Petitioner that ‘Effective September 19, 2009, the Department of Children 
and Families is suspending all payments to your location based on a reasonable suspicion that you 
have violated provisions of the Wisconsin Shares program.’  The letter cited §49.155(7)(d), Wis. 
Stats. as the legal basis for the action.  Ex # 10. 

 
11. The letter noted at Finding # 8 precipitated the appeal dated September 24, 2009 and assigned 

case # ML-09-0309 by the Division of Hearings and Appeals.  
 

12. At the December 7, 2009 hearing the local agency noted an additional, approximate, $600 in 
overpayments. As no one had notice of this it was not addressed at the hearing. Petitioner filed a 
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hearing request on January 10, 2010 concerning this alleged overissuance indicating that an 
overpayment notice for $699.39 had been issued to Petitioner on January 5, 2010. Division of 
Hearings and Appeals  case # ML-10-0044.  This issue is not addressed by this Decision.  

 
DISCUSSION 

 
1. Did the Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services have 

a legal basis for alleging overpayment? 
 
The Wisconsin Shares Child Care program is obligated to recover overpayments of child care payments.  
That is true today as the Shares program is run by the DCF and it was true when the recovery obligation 
was assigned to the Department of Workforce Development: 
 

(b) A child care administrative agency shall take all reasonable steps necessary to recoup or recover 
from a provider any overpayments made for child care services for which the provider was 
responsible or overpayments caused by administrative error that benefited the provider. A provider 
shall be responsible for an overpayment if both of the following criteria are satisfied: 
1. The overpayment benefited the provider by causing the provider to receive more child care 
assistance than otherwise would have been paid on the family’s behalf under child care assistance 
program requirements. 
2. The overpayment did not benefit the parent by causing the parent to pay less for child care 
expenses than the family otherwise would have been required to pay under child care assistance 
program requirements. 
DWD 56.04(5)(b), Wis. Adm. Code; now DCF § 201.04(5)(b), Wis. Adm. Code. 

 
The original overpayment notice indicated that the overpayment was the result Petitioner being over 
overcapacity as well as other billing irregularities. By the time of the hearing the county agency was 
basing the overpayment on the overcapacity problem as noted at Finding # 5 and the limited billing 
problems noted at Finding # 7.    
 
There is no question that a provider is responsible for overpayments caused by inaccurate billing.  As for 
overcapacity creating an overpayment, the Department of Children and Families has decided that if a 
provider is overcapacity that provider is operating beyond the scope of its licensing and is liable for any 
payment made by the Shares program during those time periods:  
 

“The Department established that petitioner claimed payment for more than eight 
children at certain times, although petitioner is only licensed to care for a maximum of 
eight children.  This is a clear violation of petitioner’s child care license.  
 
Wis. Admin. Code § DCF 201.04 (5) (b) provides that the: 
 
 … agency shall take all steps necessary to recoup or recover from a provider any 
overpayment for which the provider was responsible or overpayments caused by 
administrative error that benefited the provider.   
 
Any period where more children are in status that allowed by the provider’s license 
would constitute cause for finding an overpayment occurred, because the provider would 
be operating beyond the explicit parameters of its legal authorization. 
 
HFCCC was licensed to provide and consequently receive reimbursement for no more 
than eight children at any one time by the terms and condition of its license to operate.  
(Ex. R-2)  During the time period involved here HFCCC on various days and during 
various hours had nine to thirteen children under its care.  (Ex. R-13)  Because HFCCC 
was authorized to be paid for no more than eight children, any number of children in 
excess of eight for which payment was received is a benefit and constitutes an 
overpayment.  Notwithstanding the lack of a rule delineating what specific actions 
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constitute an overpayment, DCF can enforce the explicit written parameters of the license 
it issues to a child care provider.    
 
I reject the discussion and analysis in the proposed decision that determines that the 
Department (or taxpayers) should pay for the care of eight of the children in care at the 
center during times when the center was operating well above its license capacity.  
Operating above capacity creates quality of care and safety issues for all of the children at 
the center.  The center was not lawfully providing care for any child when it operated 
outside the scope of its license and therefore it is not entitled to be paid for any of the 
care.   
 
Because none of the children in the center received care consistent with licensing 
requirements, the center should not have submitted payment for that care.  The 
Department is acting within its authority to recoup the overpayment for times when the 
center had more than the licensed number of children in care.   
 
This decision is consistent with previous decisions issued by the Division of Hearings 
and Appeals.  See e.g., ML-08-0321; ML-09-0032.  I see no need to depart from this line 
of reasoning and decision-making here.  
 
The petitioner must repay the amount of $3,115.22 for care that was billed during times 
when the center was operating above its licensed capacity.” 
ML-09-0503, final decision issued by the DCF on April 28, 2010. 

 
2. Has the Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services 

demonstrated that an overpayment occurred and if so, how much was that 
overpayment? 

 
The amount of the overpayment was at $8623.41 by the time of the hearing. This had two components. 
First, this was arrived at by treating all hours where Petitioner was over capacity as hours where she was 
not in compliance with program regulations and the billing for all of those hours deemed to be an 
overpayment.  This amounted to $7705.41. Second, six children were noted to been billed for where there 
was no attendance times listed on sign in/sign out sheets.  This amounted to $918.00.  See Ex #s 4, 6 and 
7. 
 
Generally speaking, to successfully establish an overpayment claim, the county agency needs to present: a 
copy of a notice and overpayment computations that was sent to the recipient; primary documentation 
proving the misstatement, omission, or failure occurred and caused child care to be granted for which the 
client was not otherwise eligible; documentation of the benefits actually paid; and Case Comments 
corroborating the facts and timeline of the original reporting, subsequent discovery, client contacts, 
referral, and determination.  The agency must establish by the “preponderance of the evidence” in the 
record that it correctly determined the client was overpaid.   This legal standard of review means, simply, 
that “it is more likely than not” that the overpayment occurred.  It is the lowest legal standard in use in 
courts or tribunals.  
   
The recipient may then offer any documents or testimony that rebuts any part of the agency claim.  The 
agency, likewise, may then choose to submit other documents or testimony to address and attempt to 
rebut the defenses raised by the recipient.  
 
As noted in Section 1. of this Discussion any period within which a provider is overcapacity will cause 
the entire Shares payment made during that period to be an overpayment. Here the MCDHHS used 
Petitioner’s sign in/sign out sheets (Ex # 4) to create a spreadsheet (Ex # 6) that displays the number of 
children in care for each hour of operation each day. This spreadsheet makes clear that Petitioner was 
overcapacity as alleged and there is no evidence to rebut that.  Thus this portion ($7705.41) of the 
overpayment is sustained.  
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With regard to the remaining $918 in overpayments, the proposed decision states as follows: 
 

The $918.00 is more problematic.  The reason for the overpayment was that times were 
not listed for the children noted at Finding # 7 on the sign in/sign out sheets. But as noted 
at Finding # 8, the children were enrollment based, not attendance based and time were 
listed for all but one child (CM), signed in but not out) and one was absent (JJ).  As 
enrollment based children Petitioner would be paid for them even if not there though this 
would not obviate the requirement that Petitioner keep accurate attendance records and 
subject her to other penalties.  I am not, therefore, sustaining an overissuance of child 
care funds based on the sign in sign out sheets ($918).  

 
It is not completely clear from the paragraph above whether the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) denied 
the $918 overpayment amount because the children were enrollment based or because attendance times 
were actually listed for most of the children described in finding of fact #7, or both.  To the extent the 
ALJ’s denial was based on the assumption that there was no benefit to the provider because the children 
were enrollment based, this final decision rejects that conclusion as it has already been decided in 
previous final decisions.  For example, the final decision in Case No. ML-10-0017 stated: 

The petitioner was in fact operating contrary to regulation.  A provider must maintain 
records that show each child’s specific arrival and departure times: 

  
(b) The licensee shall maintain a current, accurate written record of the daily 
attendance on a form prescribed by the department that includes the actual time 
of arrival and departure for each child for the length of time the child is enrolled 
in the program.  (Emphasis added) 

 
See WI Admin Code §DCF 250.04(6)(b).  There is no qualifier in this code provision 
stating that it does not apply to enrollment based children. 

 
Further, § 2.3.2 also makes it clear that it makes no difference if the incorrect hours of 
attendance were for an attendance-based or an enrollment-based child.  If the requirement 
of accurate attendance only applied to attendance-based children, the Department could 
have just as well asked the provider in the reporting form to respond to the following 
yes/no question: Did the child attend your center at least one hour in the reporting week?  
That minimal information is not what the Department is seeking nor what the program 
envisions.  The reason is that there is no other way of knowing whether the parent is 
actually utilizing the hours for which the provider is being paid.  If the hours are less than 
what had been authorized, the Department may reduce the authorized hours.  Thus, 
without actual attendance for an enrollment based child, the provider may be receiving an 
overpayment because she is being paid for care that is not being provided and would not 
have been authorized if the reporting had been accurate.  The petitioner may argue that 
this line of reasoning is too speculative and that there is no proof that there were 
payments for hours that would not have been authorized.  However, I find that this logic 
is compatible with the provision in the Manual in Chapter 2, § 2.2.3, which states that if a 
provider has been paid on the basis of questionable attendance reports that later prove to 
be false, the agency must recover the overpayment.    

 
See also Case No. ML-09-0256.  Therefore, the fact that the children were enrollment based does not 
mean that recovery of overpayments was improper. 
 
However, because the ALJ suggests an additional reason for not sustaining the $918 overpayment 
amount, namely, that “time[s] were listed for all but one child (CM), signed in but not out and one was 
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absent (JJ),” this case is remanded to the Division of Early Care and Education, Milwaukee Early Care 
Administration,1 to determine which portion, if any, of the $918 amount petitioner was overpaid and to 
provide notice to petitioner of that amount within fourteen (14) days of this final decision.2 
 

3. Did the Milwaukee County Department of Health And Human Services have 
the legal authority to ‘suspend’ Petitioner’s participation in the Wisconsin 
Shares Child Care Program? 

 
The Milwaukee County Department of Health And Human Services also notified Petitioner that it had 
suspended her participation in the Wisconsin Shares program for 6 months, stating in its May 27, 2009 
notice: 
 

“Consequently, your privileges to participate in the Wisconsin Shares Child 
Care Subsidy Program will be suspended for six (6) months effective 
immediately as of June 13, 2009.” 
Ex. # 10. 

 
The question is whether or not the MCDHSS had any legal authority to impose this ‘suspension’.  
 
The Statutes direct that:  
 

(7m) PENALTIES. (a) The department shall by rule establish policies and procedures 
permitting the department to do all of the following if a child care provider submits false, 
misleading, or irregular information to the department or if a child care provider fails to 
comply with the terms of the program under this section and fails to provide to the 
satisfaction of the department an explanation for the noncompliance:  
 
1. Recoup payments made to the child care provider. 
2. Withhold payments to be  made to the child care provider. 
3. Impose a forfeiture on the child care provider. 

  §49.155(7m), Stats. 
 
The Wisconsin Administrative Code does state that: 
 

(c) If a child care administrative agency has given notice to a provider that the provider is 
in violation of licensing or certification rules and the provider has not corrected the 
violation or if the provider submits false attendance reports, refuses to provide 
documentation of the child’s actual attendance, or gives false or inaccurate child care 
price information, the child care administrative agency or department may take one or 
more of the following steps: 
1. Refuse to issue new child care authorizations to a provider for a period of time not to 
exceed 6 months. 
2. Revoke existing child care authorizations to the provider. 
3. Refuse to issue payments to the provider until the provider has corrected the violation. 

  DCF §201.04 (5)(c), Wisconsin Administrative Code 
 
The Manual states that:  
 

If a provider submits false attendance reports, the child care agency may take 
one or both of the following steps: 

 

                                                           
1 The overpayment notice was originally issued on May 27, 2009 by the Milwaukee County Department of Health 
and Human Services. However, as of January 1, 2010, certification and overpayment functions have been taken over 
by the Department of Children and Families, Division of Early Care and Education, Milwaukee Early Care 
Administration.  See 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, §§ 1053d and 1212m.  See also Wis. Stats. §§ 48.651 and 49.155. 
2 Based on this variance between the proposed and final decisions, Conclusion of Law #3 was added to this decision 
and changes were made to the “Ordered” section to accurately reflect the instructions for remand. 
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Stop issuing new authorizations to the child care provider until the 
provider submits accurate attendance report. 
Stop processing attendance for the provider until the provider submits 
accurate attendance reports. 

 
If a provider has been paid on the basis of questionable attendance reports that 
later prove to be false, the agency must recover the overpayment and may at 
their discretion: 

 
Suspend the provider from the Wisconsin Shares program for a period 
of 6 months or 
Convert all authorizations to a licensed provider to attendance-based. 

 
A notice must be sent to the provider before taking either of these actions. 

  Wisconsin Shares Child Care Assistance Manual, §2.2.3. (Oct 29, 2008 update).  
 
Pursuant to statutory directive the Wisconsin Administrative Code states that county agency may refuse to 
issue new authorizations for a period not to exceed 6 months and revoke existing authorizations. The 
Manual provision states that the agency may suspend the provider for six months.  Though the 
Administrative Code provisions and the Manual provisions use different terminology I do not see a 
distinction between the Manual ‘suspend’ language and Administrative Code ‘refuse to issue new’ 
combined with ‘revoke existing’ authorizations language. 
  
Petitioner’s attorney argues that these provisions cannot be retroactively applied. I do see that applying 
the ‘suspension’ because of violations that occur before the effective date of the regulatory scheme is the 
same as retroactively applying these sanctions.  I conclude, therefore, the county agency did have legal 
authority to suspend Petitioner for six months from participation in the Wisconsin Shares Child Care 
Subsidy program.  The real question here is whether the agency had a basis for the suspension.  Given the 
overpayment caused by the overcapacity, it certainly did.  

 
4. Did the DCF have legal authority to refuse to pay Petitioner? 

 
The Department of Children and Families as well as the county agencies may refuse to make payments to 
child care providers where those agencies reasonably suspect that certain violations of Wisconsin Shares 
program regulations have been violated:  
 

(b) The department or the county department under s. 46.215, 46.22, or 46.23 
may refuse to pay a child care provider for child care provided under this section 
if any of the following applies to the child care provider or to a caregiver 
specified in s. 48.685 (1)(ag) 1. a. or nonclient resident, as defined in s. 48.685 
(1) (bm), of the child care provider: 
1. The person has been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent on or after his or 
her 12th birthday for committing an offense that is not a serious crime, as 
defined in s. 48.685 (1) (c) 3m., but the department, county department, agency 
contracted with under s.48.651 (2), or school board determines under s. 48.685 
(5m) that the offense substantially relates to the care of children or the 
department or county department determines that the offense substantially 
relates to the operation of a business. 
2. The person is a caregiver specified in s. 48.685 (1) (ag) 1.a. or a nonclient 
resident, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (bm), and is the subject of a pending 
criminal charge that the department, county department, agency contracted with 
under s. 48.651 (2), or school board determines substantially relates to the care 
of children. 3. The person has been determined under s. 48.981 to have abused 
or neglected a child.  
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4. The department or county department reasonably suspects that the person has 
violated any provision under the program under this section or any rule 
promulgated under this section. 

  §49.155(7)(b), Wis. Stats. (Emphasis added). 
 

5. If DCF had legal authority to refuse to pay, did it have reasonable suspicion 
to do so? 

 
The question here is whether the DCF had reasonable suspicion to refuse to pay Petitioner. I am 
sustaining the DCF decision to refuse to pay Petitioner.  The DCF was informed by the local agency that 
it had established an overpayment. This is sufficient all by itself to create a reasonable suspicion under 
§49.155(7)(b), Stats. that Petitioner had violated program requirements.   
 

6. Does the DCF refusal to pay have a time limit?  
 
Previous Division of Hearings and Appeals decisions for appeals by providers concerning the Wisconsin 
Shares Child Care program issues have been sent to the Secretary of the Department of Children and 
Families pursuant to §227.46, Stats.  In Final Decisions from the Department, the Department has made 
clear that the duration of a refusal to pay is not limited by statute and that the Department will make the 
decision as to how long to continue that refusal. It is not within the authority of the Division of Hearings 
and Appeals at this time to make that determination. The department has noted:  
 

“… The Statutes do not prescribe any limit as to the amount of time that the Department 
may withhold or refuse to pay a child care provider.  Wis. Stat. § 49.155.  Therefore, I 
reject the administrative law judge’s effort to create a limit in the proposed decision.  
Setting an arbitrary deadline to send additional taxpayer funds to a provider who is 
suspected of over-billing the State would be inconsistent with the Legislature’s intent in 
passing Wis. Stat. § 49.155(7)(a)4. and irresponsible. 
 
Rather, a simple reading of the statute would suggest that the Department may refuse to 
pay for as long as the Department reasonably suspects that the provider has violated the 
rules.  This seems logical to me.  If and when the suspicion is eliminated, the Department 
would again start making payments.  If the suspicions were confirmed, then the 
Department would take appropriate actions—including efforts to recover overpayments, 
possible action against a license, and in some cases, requesting an investigation for 
potential fraud.  
…  
 
The Department shall reconcile any payments due to petitioner against any overpayments 
that may have been made.  After that determination is made, if it is found that the 
Department owes petitioner for authorized care that was provided, the Department will 
pay that amount.  I believe that approach negates any of the hypothetical causes of action 
discussed in the proposed decision.  If it is found that an overpayment is due, then the 
Department will notify the petitioner.” 
Division of Hearings and Appeals case # ML-09-0324, Final DCF decision issued March 
29, 2010. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. That there is a legal basis for finding an overpayment where a provider is overcapacity and 

receives a Shares program payment. 
 

2. That the county agency has demonstrated that Petitioner was overpaid $7705.41 by the Shares 
program as she was overcapacity during the time period involved here. 
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3. That, with respect to the $918 portion of the alleged overpayment, the DCF Milwaukee Early 
Care Administration must determine which, if any, of that amount may be recovered from 
petitioner as overpayments, consistent with the findings contained in this Decision. 

 
4. That the county agency had legal authority to suspend Petitioner’s participation in the Wisconsin 

Shares Child Care Subsidy program for six months pursuant to DCF §201.04(5)(c), Wis. Adm. 
Code.  

 
5. That State law does permit the DCF to refuse to pay a provider if it has a reasonable suspicion 

that that provider has violated Shares program requirements. 
 
6. That the Department of Children and Families correctly found reasonable suspicion that 

Petitioner violated Wis. Stat. §49.155(7) because of the county agency determination that she had 
been overpaid by the Shares program. 

 
7. That the State Statutes do not proscribe a time limit on the withholding of payments or refusal to 

make payments by the Shares program.  
 
 
THEREFORE, it is ORDERED 
 
That this matter is remanded to the DCF Milwaukee Early Care Administration with instructions to 
determine which, if any, of the $918 portion of the alleged overpayment it may collect, consistent with 
this Decision.  It is further ordered that the Department shall provide notice of the overpayment amount to 
petitioner within fourteen (14) days of issuance of this Decision.  
 
In all other respects this appeal is dismissed. 
 
REQUEST FOR A REHEARING 
 
This is a final fair hearing decision.  If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or 
the law, you may request a rehearing.  You may also ask for a rehearing if you have found new evidence 
which would change the decision.  To ask for a new hearing, send a written request to the Division of 
Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, Madison, WI  53707-7875. 
 
Send a copy of your request to the other people named as “PARTIES IN INTEREST” in the proposed 
decision.  Your request must explain what mistake the examiner made and why it is important or you 
must describe your new evidence and tell why you did not have it at your first hearing.  If you do not 
explain these things, your request will have to be denied.   
 
Your request for a new hearing must be received no later than 20 days after the date of this decision.  Late 
requests cannot be granted.  The process for asking for a new hearing is in Wisconsin Statues § 227.49.  A 
copy of the statutes can be found at your local library or courthouse. 
 
 
APPEAL TO COURT 
 
You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed 
no more than 30 days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 days after a denial of a rehearing, if 
you ask for one).  
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For purposes of appeal to Circuit Court, the Respondent in this matter is the Department of Children and 
Families.  Appeals must be served on the Office of the Secretary of that Department, either personally or 
by certified mail.  The address of the Department is:  201 East Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor, Madison, 
Wisconsin, 53703.  The appeal must also be served on the other “PARTIES IN INTEREST” names in the 
proposed decision.  The process for appeals to circuit court is in Wisconsin Statues §§ 227.52 and 227.53. 
 
 
        Given under my hand at the City of 

Madison, Wisconsin, this ________  
day of September, 2010. 

 
Ron Hunt, Division Administrator 
Department of Children and Families 
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